History of C3

Excellence in Education Awards Program

During the Fall of 2004, the Presidents of Northern Kentucky University, the University of Cincinnati, and Xavier University convened a series of conversations to determine areas of collaboration to positively impact the tri-state community. One of the many initiatives that came from these meetings is this program to recognize educators.

The first teacher recognition event was held on April 8, 2005 and hosted at NKU's METS Center. The event has continued to rotate between our campuses to this day.

The Cincinnatus Association joined the partnership in 2010 - adding their three awards to the program.

In 2014, Mount Saint Joseph University joined the group - adding the Teacher Mentor award.

All of the Excellence in Education Award sponsors value our partnership. The great educators we will honor tonight all know that the words of George Evans ring true: "Every student can learn. Just not on the same day or in the same way."